What is IELTS?

The IELTS stands for International English Language Testing System. The IELTS was introduced in 1989 with the objective of selecting students who have the English skills necessary for succeeding in an academic environment where English is the medium of instruction.

There are two versions of the test – Academic IELTS and General Training IELTS. The Academic IELTS is taken by students who want to pursue higher education in an English speaking country. The General Training IELTS is taken by candidates who want to migrate to or work in English speaking countries like Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

IELTS format
The IELTS test has four sections or modules: Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking. As you probably know all four of these skills are necessary for succeeding in an English medium. Students have to take all the four modules. While the listening and speaking modules are the same for both academic and general training, the reading and writing modules are different.

IELTS Test Structure
The IELTS test takes about 2 hours and 45 minutes. You will have to take the listening, reading and writing modules on the same day at the same center. Some test centers allow students to take the speaking test one or two days later.

IELTS Preparation Tips

Manjusha Nambiar

Hi, I'm Manjusha. This is my blog where I give IELTS preparation tips.

Leave a Reply